New Voices Project for Composers Under 30

Since its inception in 2005, San Francisco Choral Artists’ New Voices Project for composers under age 30 has solicited and performed original compositions with the objective of promoting the composition of high-quality music for chamber choir by the next generation of USA-resident composers.

The first prize winner receives a $500 cash prize, and all winners receive a professional-quality recording of the performance.

The 2018-19 Competition

Eligible composers are encouraged to submit works for consideration for a March 2019 concert set entitled “Out of the Garden, Into the Woods: from Paradise to Scary.” SFCA is looking for new and creative works based on themes of nature.

Basic Requirements

  1. Composer must be under age 30 as of March 17, 2019, and a USA resident.
  2. Composer is responsible for obtaining relevant rights to use copyrighted material.
  3. Each composer may submit up to three works.

Requirements of the Work

  1. Up to 4 minutes in length; list the length on the score.
  2. The work may not have had prior public performance or publicly available recording, nor may one take place before March 17, 2019.
  3. For SATB a cappella chamber choir. May include some body percussion; divisi to 8 parts or fewer.
  4. A brief description of how the work addresses the theme should be included.
  5. Text may include spoken word, and may be in any language. A typed copy of the full original text, with facing line-by-line English translation, must be provided. If non-standard language(s) are used, a pronunciation guide must be included.
  6. Include a note with your text stating if it is in the public domain or not. If texts are copyrighted, written proof of permission of use must be provided.
  7. Score and texts should be submitted in PDF form. MP3 files will be accepted in addition to scores; mp3 file name should include composer’s name and work title.
  8. Composer’s name, birth date, and complete composer contact information–including USPS postal address–should be printed on each score.


Up to three winners will be selected. The first-prize winner will receive $500. All composer(s) and work(s) selected for participation in this program will receive the following:

  1. The selected work(s) will be premiered by SFCA at three concerts in Palo Alto, Oakland, and San Francisco, California, currently scheduled for March 9, 10, and 17, 2019.
  2. One or more phone consultations with SFCA’s Artistic Director, Magen Solomon, on vocal and performance issues, and in order to prepare the work for rehearsal and premiere.
  3. Two complimentary tickets for each performance of the work.
  4. A professional-quality recording of one performance of the work.

We regret that no travel funds are available.

Submission Process

Submissions must be mailed by Dec 1, 2018.

Send PDF file to Include the composer’s name in the subject line.

Regular Mail
Mail two unbound copies via USPS to:

SFCA, New Voices Project
55 Taylor Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-3619

Incomplete submissions will NOT be considered.

*SFCA reserves the right to divide the prize money between two winners in the case of a tie.

Please feel free to share this opportunity!



Jarred Main, Bellingham, WA


Ash Stemke, Tallahassee, FL


James May, Louisville, KY
Ben Zucker, Lafayette, CA


James Tecuatl-Lee, Oakland, CA


Joseph Taff, San Francisco, CA


1st Place: David Von Kampen, Lincoln, NE
Co-2nd Place: Natalie Bell, Raleigh, NC
Co-2nd Place: Kevin Laskey, Coram, NY
Honorable Mention: Joseph Taff


No submissions qualified for awards


1st Place: Katherine Saxon, Santa Barbara, CA
2nd Place: Daniel Galbreath, Laramie, WY


No submissions qualified for awards


1st Place: Patrick Gullo, East Lansing, MI
2nd Place: Colin Woodford, Granada Hills, CA
3rd Place: Zina von Bozzay, San Rafael, CA


1st Place: Eleanor Aversa, Philadelphia, PA
2nd Place: Nick Vasallo, Santa Cruz, CA
3rd Place: Winton Yuichiro White, San Francisco, CA


1st Place: Kala Pierson, New York, NY
2nd Place: David Philip Norris, Minneapolis, MN
3rd Place: Nathan Heidelberger, Oberlin, OH


1st Place: Peter J. Durow, Tallahassee, FL
2nd Place: Jamie Klenetsky, Wharton, NJ
Honorable Mention: Benjamin J. Williams, Akron, OH


1st Place: Matthew Van Brink, New York, NY


1st Place: Cheng Zhi Anna Huang, Los Angeles CA
2nd Place: Eric Knechtges, Bowling Green, OH
3rd Place: Ted Hearne, New York, NY